Creative in the Kitchen!

16864270_10212111830893829_2289179379469245170_n

I try to follow recipes and then my creativity kicks in and I end up just being inspired by the recipe and creating my own thing! This sauce base was awesome and made my house smell amazing all day! I used it as a crockpot sauce, but I would have enjoyed it over baked chicken and a side too! In fact, I’ll probably try that next time for a less stewed version. I don’t normally write down my recipes because most of my cooking is by smell and well whatever I’m feeling at the time LOL. So here is my best effort at sharing this recipe…. good luck and feel to add your own spin on this!!

Ingredients:

2 tbsp. Olive Oil

4 Roma Tomatoes (chop in half, core out the white center, broil for 10 minutes to soften, peel off skins, and chop).

6  Mushrooms (chopped in half or sliced based on preference).

1 Large Carrot (chopped fine)

3 Garlic Cloves (minced)

4 large Basil leaves

1/2 cup of Dry Red Wine

1/4 Cup Flour (which ever type you use)

2 tbsp. Orgainc Tomato Paste

Salt & Course Ground Pepper to taste (I always grind over the entire pan, stir, and add more as needed)

Directions:

Heat oil oil in a pan then add carrots and garlic first (let cook for about 1 minute), then add mushrooms, chopped tomatoes, basil leaves, salt, and pepper. Meanwhile whisk red wine, tomato paste, and four until smooth in texture. Then add to the pan and give everything a good stir!! Cover and let it simmer at a medium to low heat for about 15-20 minutes. Check to make sure the tomatoes have stewed and mushrooms have softened. Check the flavor and Add salt and pepper if desired.

Add to crockpot meal, top your fresh made meal, or use as a freezer sauce!

*Tip* If you want to speed up the process or want to keep the mushrooms large enough to pick out you can soften them beforehand by soaking in hot water for 10 minutes, strain, then add to the sauce mix as instructed.

 

Leave a Reply

